which consists of the villages of Crich, Fritchley and Whatstandwell.

Cricket Teams

Crich Cricket Team 1946

Photograph courtesy Les Barber
Crich Cricket Club

Back Row L to R: Mr F. Harrison (umpire), P. Woolley, A. Cooke, P. Bendal, R. Boyce, L. Flinders, K. Blackford

Front row L to R: E. Stevenson, F. Willis, P. Smith (captain), R. Hudson, L. Barber

Crich Cricket Team 1952

Photographs courtesy Maurice Hudson
Crich crickrt team 1952

Back Row L to R: E. Stevenson, F.S. Willis, J. Woods, B. Fletcher, V. Kneebone, R. Hudson

Front Row L to R: P. Weston, S. Jackson, F. Wragg, P. Bendall, D.Stocks, M.C. Hudson

Crich Cricket Ground

The photograph is of Crich Cricket Club who played a NALGO Mansfield team every bank-holiday Monday for many years. This match was on Monday 3rd August 1952 at the "Top Doctor" ground at Crich. It was a two-innings match starting at 11.00 a.m. and finishing at approx. 7.45 p.m. In the photograph Crich are fielding.

Crich United Cricket Club played on a field known as "Top Doctor" at the top of Stones Lane, off Coast Hill. They were formed after the 1914–18 war. They payed on the Rec. then, after erecting a pavilion, played on the "Top Doctor" ground until the outbreak of the second world war in 1939.

Sporting activities were then suspended because most of the players (all of whom lived in Crich Parish) were drafted into the armed forces.

The Club was re-formed in 1946 and played at the Stones Lane ground until it was disbanded in 1963. Just for one season 1946–47 they shared the ground with Crich Rangers F.C. who competed in the Matlock & District League.

Eric Hartshorne

Photo courtesy Tony Lester
Crich Cricket Pavilion

Crich Cricket Club pavilion on the Top Doctor ground.

Photos courtesy Mrs Dawes
Crich cricket team

Crich cricket team

Top photo
Back row:Mr Stewartson, Edwin Dawes, Tom Curtis, Harry Barber, Fred Harrison, William Cowlishaw, J.W. Dawes (umpire)
Middle row: Bill Horspool, Francis Brumwell, Percy Smith (capt) Sam Taylor, Louis Martion
Front row: Dennis Dawes, Gordon Smith

Bottom photo
Back row: Sam Taylor, Joe Wilde, J.W. Dawes, Mr Exton
Middle row: George Brumwell, Percy Smith, Bill Horspool, Fred Harrison
Front row: unknown

Alderwasley Park Cricket Club 1910

Photo courtesy Miss ED Bunting
Alderwasley Cricket Club

Back Row:includes– Alf Walker, Mr Peacock, George Harrison
Standing: _ Ashman, Arthur Petts, Francis W Bunting, Ted Allsop, Sam Harris, Frank Walker, Arthur Lee, Mr Workman
Seated: Jack Petts, Reg Twigg, Donald Twigg, _ Eddowes, Bob Cowlishaw, Noah Wilkinson, Hedley Bennett
Front: Bert Lee, George Petts

Fritchley Cricket Players 1930s

Photo courtesy Peter Black

Fritchley cricket players 1930s

Fritchley cricket players 1930s
BACK ROW: Albert Rollinson, Clifford Needham, Joe Cooper, Walter Black
MIDDLE ROW: Les Rollinson, Ted Rollinson, Sam Homer
FRONT ROW: Jack Booth, Ivan Stevenson


Home| Photo Index